I took Nicole out for a little surprise date night the other night. Now, we are friends with some couples that have children, and they rarely get the chance to go out together as a couple like they used to. I think that they assume that we get the chance to do so all the time because we have no children yet, but that is not always the case. Nicole and I are both very busy with work a lot of the time as well as other commitments due to our interests or hanging out with friends and family, so we have to make spending time together as a couple a priority, just like anyone else would.

Anyway, I picked her up from work as a surprise and had already made reservations at her favorite restaurant. This restaurant serves Italian food, which is not really my favorite, but I know she loves it and we hadn’t been there in awhile. The smile on her face made it all worthwhile, and I have to say that my linguine was not bad at all. Pasta gives you a lot of carbs, but I can see the appeal, too.

Afterward, we had some cocktails and then decided to go out salsa dancing. Salsa dancing has always been something we both enjoy, although when we first got together she had never done it before. We took some lessons, even though I maintain that I could have taught her (she says I don’t have the patience to be a good teacher, but I will never admit to such a flaw!).

All in all, it was a great night. We stayed out a little late and I paid for it a bit the next morning, but you only live once, right? I had some coffee and made it through work with a smile on my face, nonetheless.